Philippians 1:1a

“Paul and Timotheus, the servants of Jesus Christ…”

 

When asked what kind of work I do, I will always answer with my worldly avocation.  I don’t even give it a second thought.  The thing that I think defines my primary work is that it puts money in my pocket, and takes the majority of my waking moments to accomplish.  Don’t get me wrong – I enjoy my work immensely.  Business to business sales has been my primary work for the past 28 years.  I get to meet new people frequently, and have pleasant conversations every day.  I make new friends on a regular basis, and continually have the opportunity to grow my income.

 

There is also a daily opportunity to minister to others.  Every day, I meet people who are going through something difficult.  Maybe they are sick, maybe they just changed their marital status – sometimes they are facing a serious disease.  Or maybe their business is not doing so well, and they have important decisions to make that will impact their future.  These things come up all the time.

 

Daily I have the awesome opportunity to pray for others, and perhaps affect their path.  Maybe I can make a big difference in their lives.  But do I take the time?  Well, I must admit that I seldom do.  But the times that I do are precious.  Often, there are tears in the eyes of the one I prayed for.  There is always a thank you.  There is always an appreciation for the thoughts and prayers that I share.  So why don’t I do it more often?

 

Do I see myself as a servant of Jesus Christ?    If I did, I would not pass someone by who needs my prayers.  I would be instant in season and out, praying for the sick, praying for those who need a touch in their lives or in their business.  This is my avocation as a servant of my Lord.  After all, the Bible tells us that everyone that came to Him was healed.  Why?  Because He took the time to pray the prayer of faith.

 

 

 

 

Lord, help me to be a better servant – one who prays when the opportunity comes to me.  Help me in my daily life to see the struggles others are going through, to be sensitive to their needs, and to pray the prayer of faith – that you might receive the glory.

Leave a Reply

