Philippians 1:3

“I thank my God upon every remembrance of you”

 

 

Am I continually thankful for the people God has brought into my life?  Even before I accepted Him as my Lord and Savior, there were countless people who sowed seeds of faith into my life.  Sunday school teachers when I was young at the First Congregational Church;  the choir directors and pastors who instilled a sense of God and His presence in me;  all those

grown-ups who showed by their example what it was to be a Christian.  As I think back, there were countless people throughout my youth who planted seeds in my life.

Then there was my good friend David.  We got to be friends at 5 or 6 years old, and stayed good friends through most of high school until our interests parted us in the last two years.  He went off to Vietnam, I stayed home.  But when he returned, he started to minister Christ into my life.  He planted seed after seed.  He watered the seed with his love.  And it finally got through to my heart.  I became a follower of Christ.

Since that time, there have been almost a dozen pastors, countless evangelists, wonderful Sunday School teachers, deacons and elders, and precious saints of God who have ministered into my life.  And then there are those whom I have ministered to in some form or fashion, either through preaching, or teaching, or leading worship – or just sitting down and sharing.

I am so thankful for all the wonderful people God has brought into my life through the years.  Both the edifying ones and the ones who brought me trials.  All of these things shaped who I am in Christ.  They all contributed to my growth in spiritual things.  So when one of them comes to my mind, I take a moment to pray for them.  You never know when that prayer will produce a harvest of its own.

Lord, keep me thankful for all those who have sown into my life.  Help me to pause and pray for them whenever you bring them across my mind.  Help me to continually sow into other people’s lives as well, that I may help others grow.

Leave a Reply

