Philippians 1:4a

“Always in every prayer of mine for you all making my requests.….”

t is my obligation as a Christian to be involved in intercessory prayer.  This is not an option!  Every day, many times a day, the Holy Spirit will bring a name or a person to my mind, and in that moment I need to pray for that person.  Not later, not when I get around to it, but at that very moment.  How do I know what kind of trial they may be facing at that very moment that they need prayer for?  Perhaps they don’t have time to call you and ask for your prayer.  But God knows.

Remember, God is omniscient and omnipresent.  He knows every detail of your life, what you are going through now, and what you will be going through 10 minutes or 10 hours, or even 10 days from now.  And He knows who can effectively pray for you, if that person will listen to the Spirit.  That still small voice will whisper a name in my ear, and that means it’s time to pray.

I have heard countless stories about missionaries overseas who came back to the states and had stories to tell.  They were facing a crisis, and needed God to intervene in a mighty way.  They cried out to God, but were all alone in their cry.  But then someone came up to them, and asked when this happened, and it runs out that God had put a burden on their heart at that very moment, and they ahd started to pray.  And that prayer had brought deliverance to a country far away.

Are you ready, willing and able to pray when called upon?  Are you listening to the Spirits call to prayer?  Do you take them to the Lord at that very moment?  Be instant in season and out, ready to pray at any given moment, you will see miracles in your life if you are.

I desire to hear you more closely, Lord.  Help me to be ever sensitive to your voice.  Help me to stop for a moment in my busy day when you bring someone to my mind.  It is never a coincidence when someone’s name pops into my head – that always means it’s time to pray.  Help me to remember that.

Leave a Reply

