Philippians 1:4b

“making my requests with joy,”

Prayer should be a time of celebration!  It is the most special time we have with God, and it should not be entered into with anything but joy.  Yet often it becomes a task that, not only do we not look forward to, but that we don’t even make time for.  Prayer is the high calling of God to every believer.  We all have the ability to fulfill that calling – do we?

Think about it.  Prayer is our direct communication with the Son.  Jesus told us if we pray in His name, we should have whatever we ask of Him.  He is out intercessor, sitting at the right hand of God ready to whisper our requests into His Father’s ear.  Can we ask for anything more?  This should give us great joy – to know He cares so much for us that He would take the time out of His busy schedule to not only hear our prayers, but grant our requests!

Yet we look at prayer as a task that is burdensome.  Do I really have to take time out of my busy schedule to pray for that one who is struggling?  Do I have to pray for that one who is sick?  Do I have to pray for the lost, for my kids to know Jesus, for my neighbor to hear the gospel?     I am very busy – I don’t have time to sit and pray for every need that pops up, I’d be at it all day!

You know what?  That is exactly what He wants us to do!  “Pray without ceasing” Is the command.  How do I do that?  When someone comes into your mind, pray for them.  Use your heavenly language if you don’t know what to pray, but pray!  And pray with joy, knowing that you are doing the hardest work a Christian has to do – intercessory prayer.  It is your calling!

I have such a hard time blocking off that prayer time each day, Lord.  Help me to be instant, in season and out.  Help me to pray as you bring people and situations to my mind.  Help me to be sensitive to the Holy Spirit, and pray without ceasing.  And help me do so with joy!

Leave a Reply

