Philippians 1:6a

“Being confident of this very thing…“

What is our confidence placed in?  Is our confidence placed in the things of this world that we can see, feel, hear, touch and smell?   Do we base the things we put our trust in on how seemingly real they are to us?

Placing confidence in things we cannot see is the challenge in Christianity.  It is easy to be absolutely confident that we have legs and can walk, or that we can see a wall so we don’t want to walk into it.  It is easy to be confident that the sun will come up each day.

But to put confidence in an unseen God to take care of me is more difficult.  I must abandon the natural senses that I have which tell me what is true and what is not.  I must, by faith, put my trust in that which I cannot see, or feel, or touch with my natural senses.  It is an unrealistic thing to ask someone to do this.  And it is not an easy thing to do.

I must abandon my senses, and grab hold of the promises God has given me in His word.  By faith, I must accept these promises as absolute.  I must have confidence that he who promised is he who will keep those promises.  Just as much as I have confidence that the sun will rise each morning, I must have confidence in His ability to touch my life.  When I get to that place, I can have this confidence that Paul talks about.

Do I have full confidence in His ability to carry out His promises?  Am I living in that confidence each day?  Is that what  regulates my life?

 

It’s easy to trust in those things I can perceive of with my own senses.  Help me to have the sense of God in my life.  Help me, Lord, to place my full confidence in you each and every day, so that your promises will be as real to me as the ground I walk on.

Leave a Reply

