Philippians 1:6b

“that He who has begun a good work in me…“

He has only begun a good work.  Always remember that.  You are a work in progress.  I am a work in progress.  The goal is to become complete, a goal that we can never attain on our own.  If I ever get to the point where I feel like I have arrived at my life’s destination, then I am not seeking what God wants for my life – I am seeking only what I can foresee.

There are so many places where God challenges us to a higher plateau.  His ways are higher than our way,  He knows the plans He has for us, He wishes we would prosper and be in good health even as our souls prosper, we should be holy as He is holy, and on down the line.  He never asks us to accept the status quo as our end goal.

Even Paul, who no doubt lived a fuller, more dedicated life than I do, kept pressing toward the mark of the high calling of God.  Are you pressing toward the mark?  Do you have your sights on a much higher plain?  Are you striving every day to see God work more in your life?  Are you looking for a greater outflow of His Holy Spirit through your life?

Don’t accept mediocre.  Don’t accept the same as everyone else.  Don’t accept just as good.  Don’t accept anything else but God’s high calling on your life.  He has so much more for you.  He has only begun a good work in you, and me.  And when God begins something, he will finish it!

I am just a child and I have so much more to learn; so much room for growth; so much potential in Christ.  Lord, help me to be content where I am, but not to settle for this as my end point.  Help me press toward the mark of the high calling of God.  Help me always want more of you!

Leave a Reply

