Philippians 1:8a

“For God is my record…. ”

You may think you live an unnoticed life, but there is one who always notices – God!  He is the great heavenly record keeper, and He knows every word you speak, ever act you do, and every thought you linger on.  He never sleeps, He never tires of keeping track, and He never misses a thing.  His memory is perfect, His timing is eternally precise, and His faithfulness is unquestioned.

For some, this is a scary thought.  We entertain things in our life that we know are not pleasing to God.   We do things that go contrary to our profession of faith.  We say things that do tear down others.  Our lives are full of criticism, judgment, gossip and backbiting.  Knowing that He sees all and knows all makes us cringe at times, because we know our own thoughts.

Paul was not like this.  Knowing God was keeping His record was a comfort to him.  He knew that even if he had done things not pleasing to God, his record was clean because every day he started new with God.  He asked for forgiveness for the wrongs he had done, and started fresh in the presence of God each day.  He was not afraid of the fact that God knew him intimately.

I want to live that kind of life.  I know I am not perfect, but I pray I will strive for that end.  I pray I will strive for the right words, and that I will hold my tongue when I don’t have them.  I pray for the right thoughts, and that I will dismiss those thoughts that are not pleasing to Him quickly.  I pray I will do the right thing, and that I will ask forgiveness for those that I wrong.  I want to be at peace with the record God is keeping.

 

I have failed so many times to do, say and think the right things.  My desire is to be more like you, Lord.  Help me to curb my thoughts and words, to hold them captive, and to always deliver the right words and do the right things to those around me.  Help me to display Christ in every situation.

Leave a Reply

