Philippians 1:10a

“That ye may approve things which are excellent:”

We tend to give our approval to a lot of things that God would never approve of. We watch movies or TV shows that are filled with sinful acts and passions. We fill our minds with things that have nothing to do with Godliness or excellence. We pass by those who need prayer without giving it a second thought. We may tell off color jokes, or laugh when someone else shares one. All of these things are far from excellent.

Excellent is living our lives as Christ would. He kept His eyes pure, not looking at things in an ungodly way, but always seeing what is good and just in others. He never discriminated. He was always sharing the principals of a godly life, not mindless chatter that brought no result. Everyone who came to Him with prayer needs was healed – he prayed for them all. His words were full of authority – even the scribes and Pharisees could see what power they held.

How can I live a life more like Christ? If I would start to live what this verse tells me to live, I would see more fruit produced. Approve of things which are excellent. Look for excellence in everyone I meet. Strive to do what is excellent when confronted with a decision. Say only things that edify and strengthen the hearer – excellent things.

 

Jesus said we are the light of the world. What kind of light are you? Are you a light thayt attracts other people, that provides warmth and direction to their lives, that illuminates their path to that excellent place? Or are you a light that is faded, cove red up, and barely able to light your own path. It’s time all of us, as Christians, become that excellent light that Jesus was. Pray for the sick, visit the ones in prison, feed the hungry, clothe the naked – do those things which are excellent!

 

Lord, help me to be excellent in all that I do. Help me to seek out the higher ground in my life, so that I can lead others there. Help me to humbly minister to others those excellent things that you have so blessed me with. Help me to be a shining light, guiding others to you with my words and actions.,

Leave a Reply

