Philippians 1:10b

“That ye may be sincere and without offense until the day of Christ”

 

 

I wonder all the time if this is even possible.

Sincere might be possible for the human soul. To do something or say something without any pretext, or judgment, or prejudice, or personal gain reason just to assist or help someone else – that’s what sincerity means in my own words. And it is a very hard thing to achieve in our lives. We have all formed opinions about people that are different than us, and we all usually do what will benefit us. It is rare to find a person that has no partiality, and who does not seek personal gain from their actions. There are some out there who can, and there are times when I can have this type of sincerity, but it is rare.

Without offense? Only through Christ can I claim this. But even in my day to day walk, I will think things or say things that are not edifying to the hearer, that do not rejoice when others are rejoicing, that harm someone else, or that would qualify as gossip or backbiting. I am guilty daily of falling short on this one. As Paul said, I have to die daily to my own ways in order to live for Christ.

Combining these two only makes it harder.  To be sincere and not offend is a powerful thing.  Sincerity can bring a harsh word to someone because God sometimes speaks harsh words.  They are not meant to offend, but to build up –  if they are said in the right spirit.

The only way this scripture can be fulfilled is through Christ.  He can help us be sincere and without offense in our words and actions.  I must rely on His power and strength, and listen to what the Holy Spirit is whispering in my ear.  Then I can proceed to live this out until he returns.

 

Lord, I am so often insincere.  I seek my own gain or my own pleasure, and miss the mark.  I don’t listen when you speak to me, and say things that offend those I love the most.   Lord, help me speak only those things I hear from you.  Help me to be sincere in everything I do.  And help me not to offend others, but to show them love at every turn.  I need your help!

Leave a Reply

