Philippians 1:15a

“It is true that some preach Christ out of envy and rivalry”

I am always amazed when I hear of preachers who take advantage if their flocks. And there are many.  That is one of the reasons the church has gotten such a bad name.  People think the preacher is just after their money, and some are!  As a church goer, I must always have my ears and eyes open, and be in tune with the Holy Spirit, to any hint of my preacher doing things that don’t line up with the word.  I should never just take his word for it.  But many do.

We see our preachers, or pastors, or bishops, or priests, or rabbis – whatever their designation – as messengers of God, and too often we follow blindly.  I can remember times when I had to go home and look things up after a sermon, only to find the preacher was correct.  But there have been a few times they were not right, or they missed on a key point.  Then I will go to them and dis­­­­cuss it, and learn, or they will learn.

When a preacher or pastor or evangelist tries to take on the mannerisms or type of ministry someone else has, I always wonder about it.  I wonder why they just can’t be themselves.  But then I look into my own heart, and I know how easy a trap this is to fall into.  I would love to be able to lead worship like Michael W Smith or Chris Tomlin, or Hillsong.  But that is their ministry, and I have my own.  I must never forget that.  I must never try to be someone else when ministering – I have to remain true to be who God has made me to be.

Be yourself. God made you who you are for a reason.  Never think that you need to sing, or preach, or witness like someone else.  There are great ideas out there, and we should learn ways to preach and witness, but we have to make them our own.  I have been in sales for over 30 years, and we learn from scripts.  But we must make these scripts our own or we sound phony and staged.  It’s the same with the gospel.  Be yourself!

 

Lord help me to never try and be something I am not.  Help me be true to who you made me to be.  You made me this way for a reason, and I know there are souls I can reach just as I am.  So keep me humble and true to myself.

Leave a Reply

