Philippians 1:15b

“but others out of goodwill.”

This should always be my attitude – always.  I am not called to preach the gospel to make a living, or to receive an offering, or to make a name for myself, or any type of vain glory.  It is for His glory we are called, and only that.

I hate to admit this, but there are times that I have looked at evangelism as an opportunity to make a little more money.  I have looked at being a worship leader at tent meeting, or singing at a gospel sing, as a way to introduce my songs to a new audience and maybe gain some fame.  I have been in the position to advance my own cause.  I was dead wrong, and I have asked God’s forgiveness for my sinful ways.

I must never seek to gain glory for preaching or singing what He has given me to sing or preach.  All the glory must go to Him.  Every time, all the time.  I must go into these opportunities out of an attitude of goodwill.  Goodwill to those who will hear, that they might be blessed and give God the glory.  That they might draw closer to God through the ministry He has given me, not closer to me.  That their life in Christ will be deeper and purer through the words that I share.

Just remember, it’s all for their good and for His glory.  I am just a vessel.

 

I have done things so wrong so often.  I have taken you glory for myself.  I have ministered just for my own gain.  Forgive me Lord.  Help me to seek out your purpose in every opportunity you bring my way.  Help me to go in an attitude that you will receive the glory, not me.  Help me to be a vessel of honor to you, not to myself.  I want bring you glory, God:15b

Leave a Reply

