Philippians 1:16a

“The one preach Christ of contention, not sincerely,”

It is a daring thing to preach Christ for any reason but to bring God glory!  And yet, there are preachers who do that – who preach for their own glory, not for Christ!  We discussed this in the previous chapter.  Have you met any of them?

As I said before, I have been in that position, and it is not a good place to be.  Too often I just looked at ministry as a way to a make extra money, or to showcase my talent for worship or my speaking ability. All wrong reasons.  All just advancing myself, bringing me glory.  I would guess that is why I have not been very successful at building an evangelistic ministry.  I have put myself and my needs ahead of not only God, but ahead of those who I am ministering to.

After all, what is the purpose of an evangelist?  I think Paul sums it up best in His letter to the Ephesians.  Chapter 4, verses 11 & 12 say that he gave evangelists for “The perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ.”  I don’t see anything there for me!  It’s all about the ones I am ministering too.

The other duty of an evangelist is to win souls to Christ.  Any evangelist knows the hardest part of the message is the altar call.  It is here where you have to bring your listeners to a decision – you, through the power of the Holy Spirit and the anointed message you have brought – have been given the awesome task of leading them to Christ, or praying them into a deeper walk with  Christ, or praying for their healing.  Not about you, but about them.  Not about you, but about bringing Glory to God.  I must never forget this!

 

Lord, I have been such a fool in the past.  Please help me get my priorities straight when I start making inquiries into evangelism again.  Please help me go into it with a compassion in my heart for the hearers, and a mission to bring all the glory to you.  Let it never be about money in my pocket, or making my ministry look good.  All about you, Lord.  All about you!

Leave a Reply

