Philippians 1:19a

“For I know that this shall turn to my salvation through your prayers”

Paul had an unending faith.  He was a positive thinker to top all positive thinkers.  here, sitting in a guarded house, he knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that the preaching of the gospel by others would bring him to salvation out of his present circumstances.  He was not worried or afraid of what man might do to him.  he was only concerned with the souls of the lost.

And he also knew the power of prayer.  he had confidence that the churches were praying for him.  Especially Philippi, seemingly his favorite church, and the only church that was not rebuked by the Lord in the Revelation.  Philippi was not a perfect church, but it was growing and rejoicing in the Lord.  It is a great example to us of what a church should be.  The other churches looked at Philippi and wanted to be like them.

We should want our church to be like them as well.  Rejoicing in the Lord, preaching the gospel and growing.  Imagine the excitement if all of our churches would follow this simple formal.  Rejoice, preach, grow!  we would see a great, much needed revival in our land.  Paul knew this then, I know it now.  Let us all strive to do just that.  Rejoice, preach, and grow!

 

Lord, I need your wisdom to make this happen in my church.  I am not a pastor, but I am very close to my pastor.  Help me share my vision with him, and my desire to see the church rejoicing and growing by preaching the gospel to all I see.  We must bring revival to our land now, not tomorrow, and we can only do that through your wisdom.

Leave a Reply

