Philippians 1:20c

                “but that with all boldness, as always,

so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body”

We have looked at the boldness of Paul when it comes to his witness of the gospel.  Now he turns to a different kind of boldness.  He says with boldness Christ shall be magnified in his body.  How can he make this statement?  I mean, after all, he is in prison, awaiting trial before Caesar.   And he is writing to the Philippians, where he was in prison earlier in his travels.  How can Christ be magnified in his body?

 

First, Paul writes in Corinthians that the body is the temple of the Holy Ghost (1 Cor.  6:19).  He beseeches us in verse 20 to glorify God in our bodies.  To me, that means doing my best to take care of this body the way God intended me to.  Good exercise, wise diet, abstain from things that would harm this body, and only take this body places that are good for it.  That covers a lot of ground.   We can get ourselves in a lot of trouble by not doing these simple things.

 

II am currently going through cancer treatment, and have a lot of medicine I have to take.  These pills help everything to work properly and keep away any infections that might try to come in.  I am also on a strict diet.  Believe me, I follow my doctors’ orders, because he knows better than I do what will make me well again.  I hate taking all the meds, but I will do it since he says that’s the road to recovery.  When all is said and done, and I have recovered and the cancer is gone, I will bring glory to the doctor because he prescribed the cure.

 

God will also receive the glory, because I have put my life in His hands.  Following doctors’ orders are part of that plan.  If I go out from under that covering that He put in my life, I am at risk to not only relapse, but rob God of the glory.  This is glorifying God in my body.

 

Secondly, our body consists of body language, volume and tone.  The words come from God – how we deliver them comes from us.  And that tone can make a huge difference in how the word is received.  To bring God glory, we must always have that loving tone that tells people we really do care about them and what they are going through.  We really do want to see them through this trial and help them get victory.  If we handle this right, we bring glory to God as well.

 

 

 

Lord, help us be cognoscente of our bodies and how we present ourselves when witnessing to others.  Help us be bold, but not anxious or obnoxious.  Help us be bold, only to bring glory to you, not ourselves!

Leave a Reply

