Philippians 1:23

 

“For I am in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ;

which is far better:”

 

Paul loved what he was doing despite all the hardships he had to endure to accomplish his mission.  Stoned, beaten, imprisoned, shipwrecked – none of it mattered at all.  He would go through anything to preach Christ and Him crucified.    And he approached it with zeal, and did all he could to make sure disciples were being raised up that could carry the church onward.

Yet his heart yearned for heaven.  He wanted it over with, but he did not stop short and say let the end come.  He would work as hard as He could until the day God called to take him home.  Letters were sent to churches by his disciples, and letters were brought back.  He would instruct the churches by what he heard in the letters and through his colleagues.  The new testament was written in large part from his imprisonment in Rome.

I pray that I have this kind of zeal throughout my ministry.  There is no reason to slow down in ministry when we get older, or worn.  The call of God transcends time and age.  Once we are called, it is a lifelong service to reach souls for the lost, make disciples of men, and build His church.  The way we go about it may change, but the calling will never fade away.

And we need our senior pastors and evangelists to help us navigate through this world.  They have wisdom they can impart to us that has come from years of serving God.  Of course, it is most important to listen to the voice of God for wisdom, but He will bring great men alongside to minister to His ministers as well.  I need to be open to hear from both.

And when my years on earth are coming to an end, let me continue to reach out and preach, write the songs of God, sing what He gives me, and witness to those who come across my oath.  Let me never waiver from preaching His word.

 

Lord, I want a lifelong desire to preach your word, not just one I can use on and off.  Give me a greater zeal, and a greater love for souls.  Help me prepare more for witnessing to those around me.  Help me to be a better student of your word.  In everything Lord I desire to do more than I have done before, so that many will come to know you as Savior.­­­

Leave a Reply

