In My Right Mind

Philippians 2:5

” Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus”

In the verses that follow this one, Paul explains to us how Jesus put our concerns before His own, how He gave His life for mine – let each look on the things of others.  We will be discussing that in the coming days.  I want to center here on this verse by itself.  I know it is important to keep things in context and I will do my best to keep it there, but there is so much packed in this little verse that I have to pick it out separate.

The mind of Christ.  Let’s look at His life here on this earth to get a glimpse of what this looks like.  He taught the people with love and compassion, doing His best to put ii together in simple stories the people could understand.  He spoke their language, not as some scholar or Master, even though He had all knowledge.  And the people flocked to hear Him because they knew t was coming from His heart – His words were spoken with conviction and authority.  I have seen preachers who did not speak with authority, and I have seen those who do, and there is a world of difference.

He healed all who He came in contact with.  Read through the 4 gospels. Every time it says the people came to Him to be healed, it also says He healed them all.  He was genuinely concerned with people, and it showed.  Over and over again, He put aside His own desire for some private time and ministered to the people instead.  Their needs superseded His own.

He took care of a band of men who followed Him and gave Him their lives.  They were totally devoted to Him, and He taught them the ways of the kingdom.  He gave Himself completely to them.  His life in many ways was not His own, but belonged to those who followed Him.  Common people, desiring to learn more about their God and His dealings with His people.

The mind of Christ is what I desire here on this earth.  I want to be the kind of minister who people look at and they know I genuinely care for them.  I want them to know I will do what I need to do to help them get through a hard time, to pray for them when they need prayer, to love them when they feel unloved.

The mind of Christ is not just about sacrifice.  It is also about humility and giving of oneself to others while I am able to.  It is possible to have that mind of Christ in us so that we can touch others for God’s glory

 

 

Oh, how I long to have the mind of Christ.  To not be motivated by anything but my love for my brothers and sisters, and even more my love for the lost.  Help me to be a light to the world, and salt to those who are seeking.  Help to show love and mercy to all I come in contact with.

Leave a Reply

