Take All My Pride, Lord

Philippians 2:7

” But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant,

and was made in the likeness of men:”

If you missed yesterday’s post, I highly recommend that you go back and read that before proceeding with this one to get the proper perspective on exactly what is going on here.

He made himself of no reputation – I think that’s an understatement.  Here is the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, being born in a lowly manger because the innkeeper had no room for his parents.  It’s hard for me to believe that any innkeeper would turn away a woman as obviously pregnant as Mary must have been.  So Jesus was born in a stable filled with hay, and simple swaddling clothes were wrapped around Him.  Lowly shepherds came to greet Him first, then later wise men brought Him gifts – the only indication that royalty was born.

Compare that to a birth in a high profile family now.  If the Prince of England has a baby, the press is all over it.  The best treatment in the best hospitals, gifts galore and pictures a plenty.

The baby has a reputation before he is even born.  Jesus came with no reputation despite the credentials He carried in heaven.  And he stayed that way throughout his youth, outside of one isolated incident when He was 12.  He was just another kid working in his dad’s carpentry shop, nothing more.

Add to that the fact He became like a servant.  As we look at His life during His ministry, He was always looking out for the needs of others first.  He taught them healed them, fed them and delivered them.  Very rarely do we so Him doing anything that would suggest He was the King of Kings.  I think of the overturning of the tables in the temple (Matt 21:12) and the scathing rebuke of the Pharisees and scribes (Matt 23:13-39). Other than that, Jesus served the people, not the other way around.­

Besides the fact that He was followed by throngs of people everywhere He went, He was looked like any other man.  He would blend in with a crowd as well as you or I would.  He put aside all His royal garb and became like me.  He had no problem being meek and lowly – in fact, that is what He desires from all of us.  Jesus had no pride to begin with, and if anyone had reason to be proud it was Him.  But He knows the way to God’s heart is through meekness and humility.  All of us need to look at this example and see if we can put aside any pride we have.  There is no place for it in God’s kingdom.

 

Lord, you have done a marvelous work in me when it comes to pride.  I am so thankful for those lessons you have taught me.  But I still struggle with it from time to tie.  I thank you for my wife, who is so good at spotting when my pride is rising up, and brings it to my attention.  Help me to be more keenly aware of this pride when it creeps back into my life.

2 thoughts on “Take All My Pride, Lord

Leave a Reply

