How to be a Blameless son of God!

Philippians 2:15

” That ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world.”

So let me get this straight. Verse 14 tells us to do all things without murmurings or disputing. Now Paul tells us here but if we do those things we will be blameless and harmless, without rebuke. Do you start to see how important it is to control your tongue? Do you also understand how hard it is to control the tongue?

Probably the best study on the tongue can be found in James chapter 3:2-10.

For in many things we offend all. If any man offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body. Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouths, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body.  Behold also the ships, which though they be so great, and are driven of fierce winds, yet are they turned about with a very small helm, whithersoever the governor listeth.  Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth!  And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body, and setteth on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire of hell.  For every kind of beasts, and of birds, and of serpents, and of things in the sea, is tamed, and hath been tamed of mankind:  But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.  Therewith bless we God, even the Father; and therewith curse we men, which are made after the similitude of God.  10 Out of the same mouth proceedeth blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not so to be. 

James tells us if we can control our words we can reach perfection and control our whole body. He says the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity and that it defiles the whole body. He says that man has been able to tame all the beasts and the birds and the things in the sea but he cannot tame the tongue – it’s an unruly evil full of deadly poison.

How well do you have your tongue under control – I mean seriously? I can honestly say most of the time in my business and when I’m out in public my tongue is pretty well controlled. But at home with my wife I say some of the stupidest things and it really hurts her sometimes. I speak before I think and that’s not a good thing to do.

The fact that Paul says if we don’t murmur or dispute that makes us blameless and harmless really puts a priority on taming our tongues. You look at the world!  They are crooked and perverse and a lot of it has to do with their tongue. We are supposed to shine as lights in this world. Let’s do all we can to make our tongue our best tool to show people we are Christians. Not just some of the time but all of the time.

 

Lord I know my tongue is not tamed as it should be. Please help me to think before I speak especially with my wife. My desire is that I will never say something that will take away for my Christianity. Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight oh Lord my strength and my redeemer.

Leave a Reply

