Hold On!

Philippians 2:16

” Holding forth the word of life; that I may rejoice in the day of Christ,

that I have not run in vain, neither laboured in vain.”

Now that we have learned that being careful with our words will leave us blameless and harmless and without rebuke, Paul turns his attention to where we really should be concentrating.  The word of God or, as he calls it, the word of life.

One of the wonderful things that has happened since I started this study, and my study in Psalms on my other blog, is that I’m now doing much more intense Bible study then I have in a long time. And I can see a difference in my thought processes and the way I go about reasoning. I really missed taking time to do devotions but I just wouldn’t make the time. Call it lazy, call it lack of priority, call it whatever you want. The truth is I just did not take time to be in God’s word as I should. That is why these studies mean so much to me. I hope they’re a blessing to you as well.

When Paul said he wants us to hold forth the word of life what he is talking about is making it a part of our daily routine. And it doesn’t just mean reading it!  Holding forth means to show it the others. Now we can take the book and we can preach it or we can live a life that shows it. I for one think the best witness is when the word of God shows in everything we do. This is definitely a goal I need to strive for.

If people know you’re a Christian what do they see when they look at you? Have you honestly assessed your life and what it speaks to other people? When I think about what other people see when they look at me I can honestly say that many people have assumed I was a Christian by the way I carry myself and the words that use. I always take that as a compliment and thank them. That is the kind of life I live.

Now Paul tells us the reason for asking them to hold forth the Word of Life.  It’s so that he knows that all of his preaching and everything that he’s done is not in vain. It has accomplished His purpose and he can rejoice when Christ returns. We need to make sure that we’re making disciples!  Let’s encourage those we come in contact with to hold forth the word of life so that our labor will not be in vain.

 

Lord make me an instrument of your peace.  Where there is hatred help me show love.  Help my life to be a living testimony of your word.  When others see me that they get a glimpse of Christ.  Help the testimony that I live in my life cause people to ask me why I have such joy and Hope so that I can share the gospel message with them. And then give me boldness to share from my heart so that others will be saved

Leave a Reply

