Excellency of Knowledge

Philippians 3:7-8

“7 But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ. Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,”

In the last lesson Paul gave his resume to us and it was quite impressive. Now in vs 7 + 8 he goes on to say that he counts those things as a loss for Christ – in fact he counts them as dung. They are nothing to him. The only thing that really matters to Paul is the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus.

I take a look at my resume and compared to Paul’s it’s pitiful. Sunday school teacher, worship leader, licensed minister, board of directors for a multi-state free paper Association (serving as president one year), church board many different times, 30 years in sales, ATM-CL in Toastmasters. I have a lot of accolades but none of them really mean anything when it comes to my salvation.

Am I continually trying to learn about Jesus? I have to admit good Bible study has not been a top priority with me through the years. Recently I have sluffed off on my study of the word. I am so thankful for this time in my life when I’m having a difficult time getting around. Because now I’m spending time in the blog community. Daily I write one blog that’s a study in the Psalms and the second one which is this study in Philippians. It is causing me to get back into the word and take a good hard look at my own life. The excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord is a primary thing that I need to strive for.

Every day, when I go about putting my blogs together, I think about how each verse affects me, how is verse touches my life, how each verse is reflected in my life. I’m no longer just reading through the scripture and trying to take it in. I’m dissecting it and getting the most out of it that I can. This is how it should be and I pray that as I get healthier I will continue to do the things that I’m doing to stay in the word. Because it is the word of God that brings life to me. It is the word of God that will give me strength to carry on. It is the word of God that will fill me with joy and peace in difficult times like this. I need to look for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord. It is the most wonderful thing that I can strive for in my life.

All those things that I have done in this world don’t mean anything but a pile of manure in the realm of eternity. It’s the knowledge of Christ and winning him that matters.  Let’s not lose sight of what is really important.

Leave a Reply

