Attaining Christ Jesus

Philippians 3:11-12

“ If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.  12 Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.

Here Paul summarizes the previous verse by saying that he would love to attain the resurrection of the Dead. The beauty of this is because Jesus rose from the dead we will all be resurrected into new life in Christ. We will put off the old mortal body and take on a new Immortal body (1 Cor 15:53). And we will reign with Jesus in heaven (2 Tim 2:12). This was all provided because Jesus rose from the dead. I’m so glad for the hope that we have in Christ.  I have no doubt that Paul will be in heaven and I look forward to meeting him someday.

Then Paul declares that he has not already attained this. Paul knew that he still had work to do. He knew that when God was ready to take him, he’d go. But until that time he still had work to do. He says he’s not already perfect but he’s going to follow after Jesus Christ. Look at the example of Christ – He was giving his life to the very end. Even on the cross as he was suffering and dying by the hands of the Romans he said “Father forgive them for they know not what they do” (Luke 23:34). What a powerful statement for someone who had just been beaten half to death and was nailed to a cross.

What about our lives? Are you still working and striving for the gospel, doing all you can to minister to others and to spread the word of Jesus Christ and his saving power? It doesn’t matter how old you are or how young you are, God can use you in great ways to reach out to people. There’s so many things and so many people that we can touch every day. During my cancer treatments, I am pretty well confined to quarters. I can’t get out Minister like I’d like to. I’m praying that between the three blogs and the Facebook page that I have, people are being touched by the gospel. We need to use the tools that are available to us to do as much as we can to reach out to others.

Paul talks about being apprehended by Jesus for a reason.  We were all chosen by Christ for a reason.  Have you found your reason yet?  I can tell you one thing for sure. You are a vessel for His love and peace to reach into a lost dying world.  Your circle of influence is different than mine.  Your mission field is all around you.  Are you busy in that field, plating seeds and tending to the harvest?  Are you doing all you can to help as many people as possible get to know Jesus?  I have to admit I am not.  I need to get busy.  Let’s all start to witness more, love more, spread more joy and peace around this world.  We can make a difference!

Leave a Reply

