Can You Be Followed?

Philippians 3:17-19

17 Brethren, be followers together of me, and mark them which walk so as ye have us for an ensample.  18 (For many walk, of whom I have told you often, and now tell you even weeping, that they are the enemies of the cross of Christ:19 Whose end is destruction, whose God is their belly, and whose glory is in their shame, who mind earthly things.)

 

I’m not sure that I would want to tell anybody to walk and be followers of me. I’m afraid I don’t set the best example of a devout Christian. My prayer life leaves a lot to be desired. My devotion and bible study time is getting better mainly because of these blogs that I’m writing. Then there are times that I don’t show the best Christian behavior.

But Paul has no problem telling people to follow him. He has been teaching several young men to be pastors in the churches, like Timothy, and also to be messengers back and forth from the churches, like Epaphroditus. These are the gentlemen Paul is talking about when he says mark them which walk so.

I think probably each one of us who walk a Christian walk has had mentors and those people we look up to as examples to follow. If we don’t we should be on the look-out for these people and find someone that can help to lead us, and also find someone who we can bring along in the faith. It’s good to have a mentor and it’s good to be a mentor. But if we are going to be mentors we better make sure that we’re living right.

Then he gives them a warning about those who would lead people away from Christ.  Paul says he’s warned the people of these folks before. All they care about is themselves and taking the glory for their own good. Paul says it right when he says that their end is destruction. In the end, they will face judgment.  But on this earth they will lead people astray.

These types can be seen in some of the old TV evangelist who were found out to just be doing it for the money. Those who proclaim Christ only to get ahead in this earth and to make a name for themselves. They don’t care about giving the glory to God.  They boast and brag about what God has done for them. They’re only concerned with possessions here on this earth. Unfortunately, they are in for a rude awakening when judgement day comes.

I don’t know about you but I want to be like Paul. I want to be someone that others can follow and find Christ. I want to be the light of the world that Jesus talked about.

Leave a Reply

