Just Be Just

Philippians 4:8 Part 3

Finally, brethren,

whatsoever things are true,

whatsoever things are honest,

whatsoever things are just,

whatsoever things are pure,

whatsoever things are lovely,

whatsoever things are of good report;

if there be any virtue,

and if there be any praise,

think on these things.

When I look at the word just the first thing I think of is justice. Justice to me means that people get what they truly deserve. And it should be just according to the laws that are in place. I think about our country lately where I think we have seen a lot of wrong justice and it reminds of Habakkuk 1:2-4 where the prophet is asking God why He allows the injustice that is going on.  Habakkuk ends up saying that wrong judgment proceeds.  It seems wrong judgment proceeds quite a bit in America today.

But then I looked up the word just and I was really surprised at what it said.  The definition said ”based on or behaving according to what is morally right and fair”. To use this definition, we have to define what is moral. And in our society today morality is changing. Things that used to be immoral are becoming moral. So how do you decide what is morally right and fair? That’s a discussion for another blog most likely.

There are some other words used for the meaning of just, and the ones that really caught my mind were unbiased and unprejudiced. Now I have to admit that I have some biases in my life. There are some groups of people that I’m more afraid of than others and I really have no reason to be that way. I think it’s because I haven’t had enough interaction with that particular people group and so they scare me a little bit. That is something that I need to work on and I need God to help me. I think most of us have biases of some kind in our life that we need to put aside if we are going to be just.

Paul’s admonition here to think on things that are just is not as easy as it appears on the surface. This is one that I really struggle with. I pray that God will help me to be more open-minded.  I look at the attributes of love in 1st Corinthians 13, where Paul writes that charity envieth not, vaunteth not itself and is not puffed up. I cannot place myself above others in any sense of the word. If I truly love with Christian love, I need to look at all people as equals.  Actually, we studied earlier in Philippians 2 that I ought to esteem others more highly than myself.  And with no envy at all.

One more reason we should pay particular attention to this thinking justly.  I love Micah 6:8, because it t us what the Lord requires of us.  What are those things?  To do justly, love mercy and walk humbly before our God.  If being just is in this list, it must be important!

To think about things that are just is a tall order, especially for me.  Maybe you have this mastered, and if you do, thank God He has helped you in this area.  I would appreciate your prayers.

 

2 thoughts on “Just Be Just

  1. I really appreciated this sharing of your thoughts, especially since I have also watch the world of right and wrong, good and bad, moral and immoral do a flip. I think that is because Christians in the US, myself included, have been “comfortable” in our faith and have not stood for God and Jesus when society turned away. We have allowed God to be pushed out of the culture resulting in the slow, steady, disappearance of God in our thoughts, words, and deeds. What we have now is a society where their is no absolute truth, no absolute right, no fixed good. Therefore we have nothing to stand on as a people, we are all over the place. I believe it is time for Christians to band together, no matter their denomination, and repent and pray for God’s forgiveness. Then we need to stand up, speak up, and live out the words of our Lord to the best of our ability. Do you agree? Thoughts? Thank you again for sharing your thoughts in this post. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree. One of the enemies biggest weapons is denominations! He has scattered he church this way, and so it is hard for us to come together. The church has also compromised thee truth of the word in many cases. What God says is sin is now accepted in many denominations.

      I firmly believe the answer is in the word, as it always is. 2 Chronicles 7:14 is as relevant to day as it was when it was said by God back in Solomon’s day. The church (His people) must humble themselves (That’s the hardest part), and ray, and seek His face, and turn from their wicked ways (turn back to the truth of God’s word). That is the only way this country will turn back to God. I plan on carrying out that verse. One by one, we can take this country back!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

