Pure As Gold

Philippians 4:8 Part 4

Finally, brethren,

whatsoever things are true,

whatsoever things are honest,

whatsoever things are just,

whatsoever things are pure,

whatsoever things are lovely,

whatsoever things are of good report;

if there be any virtue,

and if there be any praise,

think on these things.

 

Pure means not mixed or adulterated with any other substance or material and it can also mean uncontaminated.  We talk about the fact that God will refine us as pure gold (Is 48:10) as we go through the trials and tests of this life.  Here’s the question.  What would be the things that Paul does not want in our minds?

The answer to me is obvious. There are so many unpure things that we can dwell on. I can think of sexual objects, greed, gossip, achievement, power, the list goes on and on and on. To think of things that are pure we need to make sure that our mind is focused where it’s supposed to be

The only pure things that I can think of are the Word of God, the Praises of God, Jesus, God and the Holy Spirit themselves. These things need to be the focus of our lives on a minute by minute basis.  We all know that is we sit down and read the newspaper or watch TV, plenty of negative things will bombard us, and steal our focus away.  I am not trying to suggest that we bury our heads in the sand and ignore the world.  We need to be that light and salt that Jesus talked about (Matt 5:13-16).

I find that when I’m focused on the Lord the difficult things in life will take care of themselves as God guides and directs me. When I’m focused on Him, my mind isn’t cluttered by all kinds of bad thoughts, and believe me I have those. I need to do all I can to keep those thoughts out of my mind and the best way to do that is to fill my mind with something else – the Word of God.

The Bible gives us hints on how to accomplish this.  It tells us to pray without ceasing (1 Thess 5:17).  Now this doesn’t mean I go around praying all the time, ignoring everyone I meet.  It means having that attitude of prayer so that we can take situations to God in prayer as they ae brought tour attention.  And believe me, those satiations come up much more than you might think if we are looking for them.  It also says “In everything give thanks (1 Thess 5:18).  Have that attitude of gratitude all the time.  And lastly “In all they ways acknowledge Him” (Prov 3:6).  These three simple steps can help each of us keep our minds on things that are pure.

 

Tomorrow, we will discuss how to keep our minds on things that are lovely

2 thoughts on “Pure As Gold

  1. Focus is so critical, and yet, for all the reasons you mentioned so difficult. It is something I wrestle with on a daily bases. It is just so hard sometimes to keep my focus on God and God’s word, but I believe as we learn to live out our righteousness, we first have to learn how to focus on these things. In all of the Sermon on the Mount, especially as recorded in chapter 6 of Matthew, Jesus explains what focusing looks in real life. He ends that section of his sermon with these words, “So don’t worry, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear?’ For the idolaters eagerly seek all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be provided for you.” (Matthew 6:31-33) “Seek first,” is Jesus telling us to focus. When I focus I don’t worry, I don’t fear. When I focus I have peace and joy. God help me master the challenge of “focus” and seek you first in all things. Amen.
    hank you for another great post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

