The Power of Positive Thinking

Philippians 4:8 Part 5

“8 Finally, brethren,

whatsoever things are true,

whatsoever things are honest,

whatsoever things are just,

whatsoever things are pure,

whatsoever things are lovely,

whatsoever things are of good report;

if there be any virtue,

and if there be any praise,

think on these things.”

When I see the word lovely I think of something that’s pretty or beautiful, like a pretty lady. I wondered to myself how this fits in with the rest of these things we have to think about because it seems so limited.

So I looked up the word lovely in Strong’s Concordance and what it means is pleasing or acceptable. Now looking at it that way I can see a lot of applications to the way that we think.

When I first got saved back in 1976 I had a terrible attitude. I was very good at cutting people apart with my tongue in an instant. I had a very sharp wit and it was mostly negative. I started going back to church once I get saved and also started talking to the pastor on a regular basis. He introduced me to a book that was very popular back in the seventies. It was written by Norman Vincent Peale and was called “The Power of Positive Thinking. That book changed my life.

Basically, It taught that we have to think about the best things in life, and shut out the worst things in life. As we re-frame our thinking our mouth tends to follow. So, reading and studying through this book helped me to start thinking about things that are pleasant and acceptable, or lovely. And that pattern was never more true than it is today. If you ask people around me they will tell you that I’m about the most positive person they’ve ever seen. While it’s true that my faith and love for God plays a big part in that, it was definitely spurred on by those two years studying that book,  I want to thank my former Pastor for the lesson well taught and learned.

To think on things that are lovely means that we will have positive words and positive attitude flowing through our mind on a regular basis. And when that happens the negative has no place to land.  The first step to a realization of this thought process is to find the type of faith that trusts God implicitly in any situation.  How do we find that?  Well faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God (Ro 10:17).  Get into the word and study scriptures on faith.  See all the times God came through I impossible situations.  And remember that God does not change (Heb 13:8).  If He did it before, He can do it again.

Secondly, know that God always works all things for your good (Rom 8:28).  You have to KNOW this, not just know the verse.  When you come to know this is true, negative thoughts will vanish when it comes to your life.

Third, practice Ephesians 4:29, which tells us not to say anything except what will edify someone else.

And fourth, meditate on 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 and practice what Christian love is all about.  This is a starting point.  I also suggest this book to you. I’m sure you can find it on Amazon or in your local library. If you’re stuck in depression or just have a lousy attitude towards life, this book can change everything for you. I pray you will find it today.

Leave a Reply

