Let’s Be Content!

Philippians 4:11

11 Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned,

in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.

 

 

In the previous post, Paul thanked the Philippians for their generosity even though they had faced tough financial times.  In a continuation of that thought, he says that he was not speaking in respect of want.  Paul did have needs that must be filled, not just because he wanted them. How often do we get our wants mixed up with our needs?

Pretty soon we’ll be in Philippians 4:19 where it says “My God shall supply all your needs according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus”.  We all have needs that must be supplied.   I need to have air to breathe, I need to be able to pay the rent, I need a certain amount of help in order to survive.  Then there are wants.  Extra money so I can go out and play a round of golf today would be a want.  To be completely healed would be a want.   There’s nothing wrong with those two things except they are wants and not needs.  God said he will supply our needs.  We should never expect God to supply our wants.  If He does, that’s His grace working on our behalf.  And make sure you don’t get your wants and your needs confused.  My suggestion would be that every time you pray, separate your wants and needs.

The last part of Philippians 4:11 is a verse that I try to live out every single day.  And I know, no matter what’s going on in my life, I will be content.  That does not mean if I’m sick I don’t pray for better health.  Or if I need financial miracle that I don’t pray for it.  What it means to me is that I know that God is in control and so it really doesn’t matter what’s going on around me.  I can be content with what God has given me at that time.

I see so many discontented Christians in the world going after the same thing as the world.   The world will never lead us to a state of contentment – it always demands more.  When I am content, I won’t worry, I won’t fear, and I won’t get anxious.  I just go about my life and know that God will take care of me. I know that He’s a good God, that He loves me and His mercy and grace are endless so why shouldn’t I be content?  Is this the attitude that you have in life?

Too many Christians are discontent.  They complain about their lot in life.  This is pride pure!  We will see this as we continue the pride study on December 10th.  None of us needs pride in their life and I pray you’re following the pots on pride so perhaps you can see if you are caught up in pride.  Pride hides and you don’t know you have it until the Holy Spirit reveals it to you.  Pride will keep you from being content faster than anything else will. So, turn your eyes on Jesus and give him all the glory. Thank Him for what you have and forget the things you don’t have.  He supplies your needs, and you can be content in that!

Leave a Reply

