Jesus, Use Me

Philippians 4:14-16

14 Notwithstanding ye have well done, that ye did communicate with my affliction.  15 Now ye Philippians know also, that in the beginning of the gospel, when I departed from Macedonia, no church communicated with me as concerning giving and receiving, but ye only.  16 For even in Thessalonica ye sent once and again unto my necessity.

 

Paul was a man of faith. He said that when he departed from Macedonia there was no guarantee of any financial help for his trip except for the Philippians. They had communicated with him about offerings they had taken to help him in his ministry. Paul was very appreciative of this and told them that that they did well.

Do we communicate to our pastor or board of directors in our church about the various gifts and abilities that we have? I know that many churches are dying for people to step forward and do the work that needs to be done. I’ve heard it said that 80% of the people do 20% of the work and 20% of the people do 80% of the work. Sometimes I think in churches it’s more like 10% and 90%. What talents do you have that are not being used by the church right now? Can you sing? Are you in the choir? Do you let the pastor know you had a special music? Can you teach? Are you teaching a class in the church? Are you good with organization? Could you help with special services or special occasion planning? Are you gifted in doing the work of a mechanic of some sort?   Have you volunteered your services to the church or the parishioners when they need it? This list could go on and on and on but I think you get the idea. We need to be doing all we can to help our churches out. We need to communicate with the pastor and let him know that we’re willing. I guess that’s the next question. Are you willing to share your talents with the church and with its parishioners? I know some Churches have auto mechanics who will fix cars for people if they break down and not charge them. I know others that the men will get together and paint houses. Somebody has to organize that.  What are you doing with your gifts? Do you recognize that God gave them to you so that you can be a blessing to others? Are you just happy to be able to use them yourself?

Listen to the spirit.  God will reveal to you if you’re supposed to be using your talents in a certain area. Sometimes I we can’t hear what God is saying in the chaos of everyday life. Take time to be still and listen to God and then act upon whatever he tells you. He will speak to you.  If you come to him with a broken Spirit and say “Lord, I want you to use my gift to bless others”. God will do just that1 I have no doubt my mind!

Leave a Reply

