The End of Our Journey

Philippians 4:20-23

20 Now unto God and our Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

21 Salute every saint in Christ Jesus. The brethren which are with me greet you.

22 All the saints salute you, chiefly they that are of Caesar’s household.

23 The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.

Paul ends his letter to the Philippians with some greetings. First, he gives glory to God. Once again, I have to mention that Paul is in prison in Rome when he writes this letter. And he says unto God be the glory forever and ever. I guess I figure if Paul can give glory to God from a prison cell I sure can give glory to God wherever I am and whatever situation I might be in. It saddens me when I meet people who can’t praise God because something’s going on in their lives. What happens to us and what situations we are in does not make any difference to the fact that God deserves Our Praise. He is always Worthy.

Paul asks the Philippians to greet all the saints. I think typically these letters went to the leaders of the church and they read them out loud to the congregation. I’m not sure if the letters were passed around or not. They were considered precious coming from Paul. Paul also sends greetings from those that are with him. The interesting thing here is that Paul says the Saints salute them, especially those that are of Caesar’s household. From this I have to assume that Paul has converted some of the soldiers, and members of Caesar’s own house, to Christianity. How amazing is that. Even in his confinement Paul is preaching the gospel. I hope that when I get into tough situations I will never cease to preach the gospel.

Paul ends the letter with the same words that he started it with in chapter 1 verse 2. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. We need his grace every single day. Not a moment goes by then we could possibly live without his grace abiding over our lives. Paul knew that grace was the key element of the Gospel. I’ve heard it said that most of the major religions on this Earth have a lot of the same attributes and the same laws. The one thing that sets Christianity apart is the message of Grace. No other religion has that defining characteristic of sacrifice. Let’s be glad for the grace of God.

This ends our study in Philippians. I hope that you have gotten as much out of it as I have. I have learned a lot studying through this book. I’m not sure what I’m going to do next. Probably concentrate on my other blogs for now. I’m going to put this blog in one of my other websites. Maybe sometime in the future I will start another book of the Bible study. I’m glad you came along with me as we traveled through Philpppians. God bless you all

Leave a Reply

