Have You Been Quickened?

Ephesians 2: 1-5

And you hath he quickened, who were dead in trespasses and sins;

Wherein in time past ye walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that now worketh in the children of disobedience:. 

Among whom also we all had our conversation in times past in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind; and were by nature the children of wrath, even as others.

I have always loved the use of the word “quicken” in the King James Version. There is just something about the way it sounds.  I other places in the New Testament it is translated “gives life to” or “made alive”.  It denotes the spiritual life that God infuses into us at conversion.  We were dead spiritually to God in our trespasses and sin, but God infused the Holy Spirit into us, giving us life – quickening  us to His Spirit.

Before this , fulfilling the desires of our flesh,no matter where that took us. We followed the prince and power of this world, the devil’s ways.  His spirit works ijn those who are not saved.  And we were among those.  I know I was!  Drinking, drugs, women, wild parties, defying the law, defying God.  I didn’t care about anything.  I was a child of disobedience.

But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us,

Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;

I love this “But God”.  despite all my swearing at God, cursing God, using His name and His Son,s name as a curse word every other sentence, He still sought after me.  He brought me back together with my best childhood friend at out 5th High School reunion, who had got saved while serving in the army in Germany.  we kept in contact and wrote letters to each other.  In every letter he would put a scripture verse, and I would look them up – planting seed.  A year later I came to visit him in Iowa, and received Christ as my Savior while here.  You can read the story of that trip HERE.  By God’s grace, I was saved.  Quickened!  Made Alive!

Leave a Reply

