Your Talent and Testimony

Ephesians 2:10-13

10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.

You are God’s workmanship and you were created to do good works. I’m sure you know that everyone has a special talent? What is the talent that God has given you? Perhaps you have multiple talents. Are you using them to further the kingdom of God?. Many of you may say that you don’t have any talents and I would argue against that all day long. Maybe you can fix your car – that’s a talent. Maybe you’re an accountant and you’re good with numbers – that’s a talent.  Maybe you like to make things with your hands, like crafts and gifts – that’s a talent. Maybe you like to exercise and help people to keep physically fit – that’s a talent. Whatever you do for your work is a talent. Whatever you do for a hobby is a talent. These are all things that God put within you before time began so that you can walk in them.

And what does he give us these talents for? Why is He giving some talents to one person and different ones to another person? Well it’s because He wants us to share them. They’re not for ourselves – there for us to do good works for our brothers and sisters. I am not very good with my hands i.e. fixing cars or doing odd jobs around the house. I need somebody that can help me with that. Now if you are able to do those things then you could help me and that would be a good work that you would do for the Lord. I would expect to pay you a fair wage, but I also know there are churches where people donate their time to do things for other parishioners. That’s a personal decision.  God does not expect us to give our work away but he does expect us to be fair to each other.
I encourage you to look at the talents that you have and see how you can use them to further the kingdom of God. That’s why they’ve been given to you, not just to have a function on this earth, but to be a witness. Who else can go into your workplace and witness to the people in your workplace.  You should do that with the skill level that you have. So take your time, know what your talents are, and make sure that you’re sharing them and sharing the gospel along with it.

11 Wherefore remember, that ye being in time past Gentiles in the flesh, who are called Uncircumcision by that which is called the Circumcision in the flesh made by hands;

12 That at that time ye were without Christ, being aliens from the commonwealth of Israel, and strangers from the covenants of promise, having no hope, and without God in the world:

We must remember where we came from. We were once sinners, we were without Christ strangers from the Covenant. Without God.  That is a great part of our testimony – the change that God has made in our lives. I know in my case I was a drunk and a drug addict. I was wondering aimlessly through life, just doing my job but barely getting by. I thought I was happy. I was always goofing off. I really didn’t have a purpose, just do my job and  get high. That’s my history, that’s where I came from, that’s what God delivered me out of. It’s important that we remember those things because that’s let people know what God can do for them. If we don’t share that then others will not know that God can do it for them too. Have you worked on your testimony lately? Have you made it the best it can be? Let’s lift our voices and witness to those around us more and more.

13 But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ.

But in Christ we are no longer far from God.  We are now close to Christ because of the blood He shed. Our lives were far from God, far from His blessing, far from Heaven.  And we had no hope of getting close to God until we turned to Christ.  He did it all for us!

Leave a Reply

