He Is My Peace

Ephesians 2:14-17

14 For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us;

He is our peace. Our peace does not come from some foreign place or from inside of us or even from reading the word necessarily. It comes from Jesus Christ. Because He is our peace. He is the one who broke down the wall separating us from God. You might remember the account. When Jesus was on the cross, He let out a cry and the veil of the temple was rent from top to bottom. The veil of the Temple separated the Holy Place from the Most Holy Place. Inside the Most Holy Place was where the Israelites believed the very presence of God dwelt. It was such a Holy Place then only the high priest could go in, and only once a year was he allowed to go in there. And even when he did go in they would tie a rope around his foot in case he did something wrong and God would slay him while he was in there so they could pull him out. It was a Most Holy Place.

But when Jesus died and the veil of the Temple was rent in two,  that was breaking down the middle wall of partition. We now have access to God through Jesus Christ. We can come to Him anytime we want to. And this is where our peace comes in because Jesus Christ is our peace. We can now have peace knowing that God is right there all the  time,ready to hear our petitions and our cries. Jesus said “My peace I leave with you.  My peace I give unto you.  Not as the world gives give I unto you.  Let not your heart be troubled nether let it be afraid (John 14:27). The peace that Jesus gives is totally different than the peace of the world. It will always remain with us.

15 Having abolished in his flesh the enmity, even the law of commandments contained in ordinances; for to make in himself of twain one new man, so making peace;

16 And that he might reconcile both unto God in one body by the cross, having slain the enmity thereby:

Why is he our peace? He defeated the enmity between God and me.  I had to look up the word enmity because I wasn’t sure exactly what it meant.  The online dictionary says enmity means the state or feeling of being actively opposed or hostile to someone. It suggests true hatred. Paul says it the law of Commandments contained in ordinances that iis enmty. This is an interesting statement. The Jews lived by the law, they did everything by the law. It was their way of serving God. And Paul is saying here that it was an enemy that needed to be abolished. I can’t say that I fully understand all of it but I do know that we do not have to live under the law of Moses. We don’t have to live under the sacrificial law. It would be a burden to us. Jesus became our sacrifice so we would not have to do that. As a result He made His peace with God when His own flesh was crucified on the cross
And this is what verse 16 says. He reconciled us unto God in one body by the cross. The work that was done on the cross is amazing, and I don’t know whether I’ll ever fully understand all of the repercussions of that day when Jesus gave His life for ours. The simple truth is that He set me free. He set me free from the law, He set me free from sin, He set me free from Satan, He set me free from my own flesh. In every way that I can think of He set me free because He defeated the one that was opposed to me, which was the enemy himself, the devil. And there are times that I still allow my enemy to have a place in my life.  I need to stop doing that because whenever the devil’s around there is no peace. When I stand strong in the Lord, the enemy can’t come around because he’s been defeated

17 And came and preached peace to you which were afar off, and to them that were nigh.

Now Paul says they came and preached peace, not only to people that were there but people that we’re a long ways away. We have the same call on our lives. How many people do you know that are troubled in their spirit or in their heart. They need peace. We have the peace that passes all understanding inside of us. Oh how we need to share it. This world needs a good dose of peace right now, probably more than it ever has before. Are you in a position to take that peace to the world? Do you have that peace deep down inside of you today? If you don’t then turn to Jesus. He is the source of the piece that you need to calm your weary soul.

Leave a Reply

