Be Careful Little Mouth What You Say

29 Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.

My words are important.  Everything I say has an affect. either on me or on the people around me.  I must be aware of how those words affect other people all the time.  In our world today, it seems people don’t think much about this.  Once the words leave our lips, it is too late – the damage is done.  So we have to think about what we are going to say before we say it.  Now there’s a novel idea!  Paul says we should not  let corrupt communication proceed out of our mouth.

The word corrupt here is translated bad or unwholesome in other places in the New Testament.  The underlying meaning is that it is rotten and of no value.  When our words are demeaning and derogatory, they fit this description.  Gossip fits this description.  Backbiting fits this description.  When we put someone down, criticize them, make others feel less about someone – all of these things would be corrupt communication.  We have no business using words that do these things.

What we should be saying are things that build people up.  Words that help them to have a good day, to see God in the midst of their day, to see the grace of God working for them.  Our job is to minister grace to those around us with our words.  We should always be gentle and caring, loving and graceful with out words.

30 And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption.

Sometimes I get really dumb.  I hurt my wife more with my words than anyone else alive.  I just say stupid things sometimes, and don’t even realize I said it.  Ans she is grieved by that.  And when I hurt her, I hurt.  I just want to crawl in a hole and cry sometimes, because I hurt her.

If we hurt others in our church, or other Christians with our words, we grieve the Holy Spirit.  I know that is something I don’t want to do – ever.  The Holy Spirit is so precious to me.  When I am worshiping and he comes into my place  of worship, it is such a sweet time.  I never want the Holly Spirit to be grieved and not want to be around me, for any reason.  He is the one  who keeps me safe from harm, and He has sealed me until Christ returns.

31 Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice:

32 And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

So Paul gives us a list of things to get rid of, and  things to keep doing.  I think this is great.  God does not eave us guessing. He spells it right out for us.  So let’s quickly look over these two lists.

Put away bitterness – this can only be done with forgiveness.  Typically, we start to allow bitterness in our lives when we harbor a grudge, or when someone has offended us.  Get over it, and make it right.  Bitterness is a bad thing, and it only hurts you.

Put away wrath and anger.  I see some people who just seem mad all the time.  They are never pleased with anything and always complaining.   Don’t be that person – put that away.

Put away clamor – being loud and obnoxious.  this kind of talk has no place in a Christian.

Put away evil speaking – you should NEVER say anything bad about anybody else.  NEVER

Put away malice – be kind, don’t talk about getting revenge or doing harm to others.

And how should we be?  Kind, tenderhearted  ad forgiving, just like God is with us.  He’s only asking us to do what he did for us.  Certainly, we can do that!

Leave a Reply

