Oh, For Just a Little Respect

Ephesians 6:1-4

Children, obey your parents in the Lord: for this is right.

Honour thy father and mother; which is the first commandment with promise;

That it may be well with thee, and thou mayest live long on the earth.

Sometimes I think we have lost sight of this truth.  I know there are a lot of families out there whose kids are great, and who do honor their parents in all things.  I know that they will be blessed for that effort.  It is amazing that the first commandment with promise has to do with family!  I think that shows how important family is  to God.  I  am not going to try to get into a discussion on what  makes up a  family here though.  I want to talk about respect, which can translate into honor and obedience.

In our world today, they say that 50% of marriages and up in divorce.  We have a lot of fathers running around making babes and not taking responsibility for them.  And we have.  We have many families where parents have to work two jobs in order to make  ends meet.  And we have a declining population that is attending church on a regular basis.  I see all of these as factors when look at a the generation that is rising up in our high schools and colleges now.  It seems to me to be a generation of privilege, like we owe them something.  A generation that demands we cater to them and their needs, instead of them honoring their parents by doing what is right and good for society as a whole. A generation that thinks the government should take care of them, with free education and free healthcare, not realizing that the price of those things is paid by the American people in the end.  It seems from all the pictures I have seen that this is the majority of people who have been protesting at every turn about this election and the repercussions.

Maybe I am all wrong in these, but it’s not what I see.  And I think it’s because these young people have not been taught to respect their elders and those in authority.  They have not been taught in the home how important it is to learn at an early age that respect is something you must give in order to receive it.  They have not learned this basic biblical principle.  And the next generation will be even more demanding.

And, ye fathers, provoke not your children to wrath: but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.

I applaud the fathers who are doing what God asks here.  You are a blessing not only to your wife and children, but to the church and the society as a whole.  I would ask you to mentor the younger fathers coming up in your church who are beginning to have families.  we need fathers to step up and take this kind of approach with their children.  Fathers who put their pride aside and work humbly with their children to bring them up in the fear of the Lord.  Fathers who instruct their children in the home.  I was not such a father, and am blessed now that all three of my kids are in church, and they are raising good kids.

One of the saddest things in our society is all the fatherless children, and there are a lot of them.  And many who have fathers are being abused by them.  I don’t mean to paint a bleak picture, and I know there are a lot of good,God-fearing men out there.  I can only imagine a world where all the fathers did the right thing in raising their children.  It would be incredible!  I pray for all the fathers out there, that they may find their way to God, and take on the responsibility they started when they conceived that child, or when they married into that family.  I pray for revival in their hearts and souls.  Let’s see a new generation, one that lives in a spirit of respect and honor.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

